Photos from the Jeff Clew Memorial Run 2019

Yesterday was positive proof that we’re all fair weather bikers really 🙂 and it’s not just me being rather pathetic after all.  Last year, we only had 4 hardy soles turn up for this run but yesterday, there were 54…the only difference being The Sun Had Got His Hat On and We Came Out To Play (apologies for the slight change to the lyrics).

Summary from Rod Hann, the run organiser, below.  I’ve listed the prizewinners at the bottom of this post alongside the photos of the presentations.

54 entrants signed on for the Jeff Clew Memorial Run held at The Haynes International Motor Museum, at Sparkford. Sunny weather greeted all as they set off on either a short route of 43 miles or a longer route of 70 miles. Two routes to cater for all needs and types of machines. Both routes incorporated a coffee stop. Those returning to the Haynes Museum saw the presentation of the prizes by Alison Clews (Jeff’s daughter) who had travelled down from Derbyshire specially for the occasion.

Long Route

Paul Miles, Ken Druce and I opted to do the Long Route which took in some lovely scenery around Corscombe and Hamm Hill.  It, of course, had the obligatory coffee and ice cream stops (it would be rude not to!) and I was particularly impressed that the route managed to get us around Yeovil without us actually realising how close we were to the town.

Many thanks to Rod and Carol Hann for laying on such a good day. And to Alison Clew for travelling down from Derbyshire to be with us….and not forgetting Alfie, her dog.

Haynes at the Start:
Mid-Route Stops:
Presentations at Haynes:
  • The Haynes Shield (Best Overall) = John GUY – S.O.S.
  • Hinton Motorcycles Trophy (Best veteran or Vintage) = Colin BENTHAM – Scott
  • Bob Foster Trophy (Best Post Vintage) = Tony PASHLEY – Sunbeam
  • John Brittain Trophy (Best Classic) = Alan SKINNER – Ariel
  • Clew Family Trophy (Best Velocette) = Rich KINSLEY – Velocette
  • The VMCC Tankard (Best Douglas) = John GIBBS – Douglas
  • The Denny Trophy (Best Threewheeler) = Bryan POPE – Royal Enfield S/C
  • Mike Penn Award (Spirit of the Event) = Martin FOOT
  • The Orman Tankard (Best Japanese Machine) = Ian HURFORD – Honda
  • Best Unrestored Machine = Richard GRAY – Douglas


Author: Paul Wirdnam

Strangely addicted to Ariel motorcycles from the '20s, 30s and 40s.

Leave a Reply